Wednesday, July 21, 2021

My Weekly Pull [177] & Can't-Wait Wednesday [152]

 
My Weekly Pull is something I do every Wednesday to show which comics I had pulled for me that week! If you're into comics, or you're looking to start, please join me! If you decide to do your own post, there's a link-up at the bottom. I would love to stop by and check it out!

Shadecraft #5 by Joe Henderson, Lee Garbett, Antonio Fabela
Undiscovered Country #14 by Charles Soule, Scott Snyder, Giuseppe Camuncoli, Leonardo Marcello Grassi, Tula Lotay
Miles Morales Spider-Man #28 by Saladin Ahmed, Carmen Nunez Carnero, Iban Coello

Proctor Valley Road #5 by Alex Child, Grant Morrison, Naomi Franquiz
Moon Knight #1 by Jed MacKay, Alessandro Cappuccio, John Romita Jr. 
Moon Knight #1 by Jed MacKay, Alessandro Cappuccio, Skottie Young

Jacob's comics for the week:

My Little Pony Transformers Friendship in Disguise II #4 by James Asmus, Ian Flynn, Casey W. Coller, Jack Lawrence, Bethany McGuire-Smith
Extreme Carnage Phage #1 by Steve Orlando, Gerardo Sandoval, Skottie Young

Can't Wait Wednesday is a weekly feature that's currently hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings. It highlights the upcoming releases we're really excited about reading! CWW is a spinoff of the feature Waiting on Wednesday (WoW), that was started by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina by Zoraida Córdova
Expected publication: September 7th 2021 by Atria Books

Synopsis (via Goodreads): Perfect for fans of Alice Hoffman, Isabel Allende, and Sarah Addison Allen, this is a gorgeously written novel about a family searching for the truth hidden in their past and the power they’ve inherited, from the author of the acclaimed and “giddily exciting” (The New York Times Book Review) Brooklyn Brujas series.

The Montoyas are used to a life without explanations. They know better than to ask why the pantry never seems to run low or empty, or why their matriarch won’t ever leave their home in Four Rivers—even for graduations, weddings, or baptisms. But when Orquídea Divina invites them to her funeral and to collect their inheritance, they hope to learn the secrets that she has held onto so tightly their whole lives. Instead, Orquídea is transformed, leaving them with more questions than answers.

Seven years later, her gifts have manifested in different ways for Marimar, Rey, and Tatinelly’s daughter, Rhiannon, granting them unexpected blessings. But soon, a hidden figure begins to tear through their family tree, picking them off one by one as it seeks to destroy Orquídea’s line. Determined to save what’s left of their family and uncover the truth behind their inheritance, the four descendants travel to Ecuador—to the place where Orquídea buried her secrets and broken promises and never looked backed.

Alternating between Orquídea’s past and her descendants’ present, The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina is an enchanting novel about what we knowingly and unknowingly inherit from our ancestors, the ties that bind, and reclaiming your power.

*Share your My Weekly Pull post! Please leave the direct link to your My Weekly Pull post and not just your blog's URL. Thank you for participating and happy reading!

4 comments:

  1. Nice pick! Hope you love this one once you get to read it!


    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I like the idea of diving into your family history! Hope you enjoy this one!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Curious about Moon Knight. I hope you'll enjoy these!

    ReplyDelete
  4. That books sounds really interesting a little creepy.

    ReplyDelete

Click the "Notify me" box if you want to be notified when someone responds!

“Stuff and nonsense. Nonsense and stuff and much of a muchness and nonsense all over again. We are all mad here, don't you know?”
― Marissa Meyer, Heartless