Tuesday, October 13, 2020

Beyond the Ruby Veil by Mara Fitzgerald
[Blog Tour: Spotlight + Giveaway]

 
Halito! Welcome to the next stop on the Beyond the Ruby Veil blog tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. I was originally slotted to review this book for the tour, but my parents were in the hospital (COVID-19) and I took some time off. Hopefully I will be able to get to it soon, since the story sounds amazing! However, I still get to share this lovely spotlight post with you, AND there's a giveaway at the bottom! Thanks for stopping by! For the full tour schedule, please visit the Rockstar Book Tours website.

About the Book:
Title: BEYOND THE RUBY VEIL (Beyond the Ruby Veil, #1)
Author: Mara Fitzgerald
Pub. Date: October 6, 2020
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Formats: Hardcover, eBook
Pages: 40
Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, Kindle, B&N, iBooks, Kobo, TBD, Bookshop.org

Buy a SIGNED Copy!

A dark, queer YA fantasy that's perfect for fans of the Three Dark Crowns series and Wicked Saints. After Emanuela Ragno kills the one person in Occhia who can create water, she must find a way to save her city from dying of thirst.

Emanuela Ragno always gets what she wants. With her daring mind and socialite schemes, she refuses to be the demure young lady everyone wants her to be. In her most ambitious move yet, she's about to marry Alessandro Morandi, her childhood best friend and the heir to the wealthiest house in Occhia. Emanuela doesn't care that she and her groom are both gay, because she doesn't want a love match. She wants power, and through Ale, she'll have it all.

But Emanuela has a secret that could shatter her plans. In the city of Occhia, the only source of water is the watercrea, a mysterious being who uses magic to make water from blood. When their first bruise-like omen appears on their skin, all Occhians must surrender themselves to the watercrea to be drained of life. Everyone throughout history has given themselves up for the greater good. Everyone except Emanuela. She's kept the tiny omen on her hip out of sight for years.

When the watercrea exposes Emanuela during her wedding ceremony and takes her to be sacrificed, Emanuela fights back...and kills her. Now Occhia has no one to make their water and no idea how to get more. In a race against time, Emanuela and Ale must travel through the mysterious, blood-red veil that surrounds their city to uncover the secrets of the watercrea's magic and find a way to save their people-no matter what it takes.

"Perfect for fans of Holly Black's The Cruel Prince and Emily A. Duncan's Wicked Saints...a must-purchase for YA collections."—School Library Journal

"A fast-paced debut that reaches spectacularly bloody heights."—Kirkus

"Fitzgerald populates her story with fierce women who rule cities and seek glory."—Booklist


About Mara:

Mara Fitzgerald writes YA fantasy about unlikable female characters who ruin everything. She is a biologist by day and spends entirely too much time looking at insects under a microscope. She was born near Disney World and now lives near Graceland, which is almost as good. Beyond the Ruby Veil is her debut novel. 

Where you can find her:

Pre Order the book and get some awesome swag!

HOW TO ENTER 
YOU WILL RECEIVE:
  • One signed bookplate
  • Art prints drawn by Audrey Estok with matte velvet-touch finish
  • At least 1 random sticker of eyeballs
RULES:
Giveaway Details: 
3 winners will receive a finished copy of BEYOND THE RUBY VEIL, US Only.

*this post has been backdated

1 comment:

Click the "Notify me" box if you want to be notified when someone responds!

“Stuff and nonsense. Nonsense and stuff and much of a muchness and nonsense all over again. We are all mad here, don't you know?”
― Marissa Meyer, Heartless