Wednesday, June 10, 2020

My Weekly Pull [119] & Can't-Wait Wednesday [94]

My Weekly Pull is something I do every Wednesday to show which comics I had pulled for me that week! If you're into comics, or you're looking to start, please join me! If you decide to do your own post, there's a link-up at the bottom. I would love to stop by and check it out!

https://www.amazon.com/DAREDEVIL-20-Chip-Zdarsky/dp/B089MD87JQ/ref=as_li_ss_tl?dchild=1&keywords=Daredevil+#20&qid=1592105742&sr=8-3&linkCode=ll1&tag=doyoudogear-20&linkId=d62070283a9a4a879e8fbf067a9d16f2&language=en_UShttps://www.amazon.com/Undiscovered-Country-6-Scott-Snyder-ebook/dp/B0849QKD75/ref=as_li_ss_tl?dchild=1&keywords=Undiscovered+Country+#6&qid=1592105817&sr=8-1&linkCode=ll1&tag=doyoudogear-20&linkId=2a476a0ac373ad045a9012c62cbd352a&language=en_UShttps://www.amazon.com/Deadpool-2019-5-Kelly-Thompson-ebook/dp/B0844MSK5Y/ref=as_li_ss_tl?dchild=1&keywords=deadpool+#5&qid=1592105903&sr=8-3&linkCode=ll1&tag=doyoudogear-20&linkId=b8a020948905481b604951f3deca8fff&language=en_US
Daredevil #20 by Chip Zdarsky, Marco Checchetto, Julian Totino Tedesco
Undiscovered Country #6 by Charles Soule, Scott Snyder, Giuseppe Camuncoli, Leonardo Marcello Grassi
Deadpool #5 by Kelly Thompson, Chris Bachalo, Gerardo Sandoval

https://www.amazon.com/Jim-Hensons-Dark-Crystal-Resistance-ebook/dp/B085HQB3B1/ref=as_li_ss_tl?dchild=1&keywords=jim+henson+dark+crystal+age+of+resistance+#8&qid=1592106003&sr=8-1&linkCode=ll1&tag=doyoudogear-20&linkId=e6ffee29450beea06ab23489450f82db&language=en_UShttps://www.amazon.com/Wynd-1-James-Tynion-IV-ebook/dp/B08932DLHW/ref=as_li_ss_tl?dchild=1&keywords=WYND+#1+james&qid=1592106119&sr=8-1&linkCode=ll1&tag=doyoudogear-20&linkId=a449359f91ef7754acd2450821b36bf1&language=en_UShttps://www.amazon.com/Miles-Morales-Spider-Man-2018-17-ebook/dp/B0844K4W5B/ref=as_li_ss_tl?dchild=1&keywords=Miles+Morales+Spider-Man+#17&qid=1592106202&sr=8-1&linkCode=ll1&tag=doyoudogear-20&linkId=e0bce6ffcd2e02de6dcbe15f63680e1e&language=en_US
Jim Henson's The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance #8 by Adam Cesare, French Carlomagno, Mona Finden
Wynd #1 by James Tynion IV, Michael Dialynas
Miles Morales: Spider-Man #17 by Saladin Ahmed, Carmen Canero, Javier Garron

https://www.amazon.com/DC-Classics-Batman-Adventures-1992-1995-ebook/dp/B088ZM8MZB/ref=as_li_ss_tl?dchild=1&keywords=DC+Classics+Batman+Adventures+#1+kelley&qid=1592106302&sr=8-1&linkCode=ll1&tag=doyoudogear-20&linkId=0fa5a6282f67667cdf93cfd6b840589b&language=en_UShttps://www.amazon.com/Batman-Adventures-Continue-2020-1-ebook/dp/B0861RJ7WK/ref=as_li_ss_tl?dchild=1&keywords=Batman+The+Adventures+Continue+#1&qid=1592106366&sr=8-1&linkCode=ll1&tag=doyoudogear-20&linkId=be7112d220a70e3501925c402f986932&language=en_US
DC Classics: The Batman Adventures #1 by Kelley Puckett, Ty Templeton, Rick Burchett
Batman: The Adventures Continue #1 by Paul Dini, Alan Burnett, Ty Templeton, Dave Johnson

Daredevil, Undiscovered Country, Deadpool, The Dark Crystal, and Miles Morales are some of my favorites! Wynd is a new one I've been drooling over, so I went ahead and pre-ordered it (check out my CWW from last week for additional artwork). The Batman comics are for my son, since he's suddenly very interested in Bruce Wayne (???). Hopefully one of these will be age-appropriate for him. 😂 We don't typically read DC comics, so I have no idea what to expect! 

Speaking of Batman... what do you guys think about Robert Pattinson playing Bruce Wayne in the new movie? I have to admit, I'm pretty curious. Pattinson has been in a lot of movies since Twilight, but it's hard for me not to see him as Edward Cullen (although I enjoyed his role in Water for Elephants). 

Can't Wait Wednesday is a weekly feature that's hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings. It highlights the upcoming releases we're really excited about reading! CWW is a spinoff of the feature Waiting on Wednesday (WoW), that was started by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0062672703/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&SubscriptionId=1MGPYB6YW3HWK55XCGG2&linkCode=ll1&tag=doyoudogear-20&linkId=24ea2a4a6e8354ccfa8537762a67c40d&language=en_USHow to Be a Girl in the World by Caela Carter
Expected publication: August 11th 2020

Synopsis (via Goodreads): From the critically acclaimed author of the ALA Notable and Charlotte Huck Honor Book Forever, or a Long, Long Time comes a poignant coming-of-age novel about the complicated parts of growing up, finding your voice, and claiming your space. Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead, Laurel Snyder, or Ali Benjamin!

Lydia hasn’t felt comfortable in her own skin since the boys at her school started commenting on the way she looks in her uniform. Her cousin and friends think she should be flattered, but the boys—and sometimes her mom’s boyfriend, Jeremy—make Lydia uncomfortable and confused. Even more confusing is when Jeremy hovers too close and hugs a little too long.

Then her mom surprises her by buying a dilapidated house in their neighborhood. Lydia hopes to find a little bit of magic in their new home. But just like the adults in her life, and God, and her friends, the magic Lydia deeply believes in eventually loses its power to keep her safe.

And as seventh grade begins, Lydia wonders: Is there a secret to figuring out how to be a girl in the world?

𑁋𑁋𑁋

Caela Carter's Forever, or a Long, Long Time is a book I read several years ago, and one I still think about today. It's about siblings that have lived in several fosters homes (not all of them good), and how they felt about finally being adopted. It's heartbreaking because their fictional experiences are someone else's reality. I have a feeling How to Be a Girl in the World is going to be just as impactful.

*Share your My Weekly Pull post! Please leave the direct link to your My Weekly Pull post and not just your blog's URL. Thank you for participating and happy reading!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Click the "Notify me" box if you want to be notified when someone responds!

“Stuff and nonsense. Nonsense and stuff and much of a muchness and nonsense all over again. We are all mad here, don't you know?”
― Marissa Meyer, Heartless