Wednesday, May 6, 2020

Can't-Wait Wednesday [89]

Can't Wait Wednesday is a weekly feature that's hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings. It highlights the upcoming releases we're really excited about reading! CWW is a spinoff of the feature Waiting on Wednesday (WoW), that was started by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0062940953/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&SubscriptionId=1MGPYB6YW3HWK55XCGG2&linkCode=ll1&tag=doyoudogear-20&linkId=42610451977a93d7abbc145aed5f74c6&language=en_USThe Girl and the Ghost by Hanna Alkaf
Expected publication: August 4th 2020 by HarperCollins

Synopsis (via Goodreads): A Malaysian folk tale comes to life in this emotionally layered, chilling middle grade debut, perfect for fans of The Book of Boy and The Jumbies.

I am a dark spirit, the ghost announced grandly. I am your inheritance, your grandmother’s legacy. I am yours to command.

Suraya is delighted when her witch grandmother gifts her a pelesit. She names her ghostly companion Pink, and the two quickly become inseparable.

But Suraya doesn’t know that pelesits have a dark side—and when Pink’s shadows threaten to consume them both, they must find enough light to survive . . . before they are both lost to the darkness.

Fans of Holly Black’s
Doll Bones and Tahereh Mafi’s Furthermore series will love this ghostly middle grade debut that explores jealousy, love, and the extraordinary power of friendship.

13 comments:

  1. This sounds like a cool book for kids!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Right?? I'm really looking forward to its release! :) I think my son and I will both enjoy it! <3

      Delete
  2. Replies
    1. I know!! I'm tempted to preorder this one, but like to use the library when it's an author I haven't read before.

      Delete
  3. As a kid I would've snatched that book off a library shelf! It looks really interesting!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. My son asked me to buy it as soon as I read the synopsis to him, haha. I had to explain that it wasn't out yet! ;)

      Delete
  4. Replies
    1. I keep checking NetGalley to see if it's available to request! :)

      Delete
  5. This does sound good! I'll be looking out for your review. 👍✨

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Fingers crossed I can snag an early copy! If not, I'm definitely going to borrow it from the library, or just flat out buy it when it comes out. :)

      Delete
  6. I love the cover for this one! It sounds wonderful. I must admit that I know pretty much nothing about Malaysian folklore but I'm always ready to learn especially when it's wrapped up in a story. :)

    ReplyDelete

Click the "Notify me" box if you want to be notified when someone responds!

“Stuff and nonsense. Nonsense and stuff and much of a muchness and nonsense all over again. We are all mad here, don't you know?”
― Marissa Meyer, Heartless