Wednesday, October 9, 2019

My Weekly Pull [91] & Can't Wait Wednesday [61]

My Weekly Pull is something I do every Wednesday (when the stars align in my favor) to show which comics I had pulled for me that week! If you're into comics, or you're looking to start, please join me! If you decide to do your own post, there's a link-up at the bottom. I would love to stop by and check it out!
Gwenpool Strikes Back #3 by Leah Williams, David Baldeon
Miles Morales Spider-Man #11 by Saladin Ahmed, Ig Guara, Jose Carlos, Mike Hawthorne

Jacob's comics for the week!
Absolute Carnage Miles Morales #3 by Saladin Ahmed, Federico Vincentini, Clayton Crain
Amazing Spider-Man #31 by Nick Spencer, Ryan Ottley
Doctor Doom #1 by Christopher Cantwell, Salvador Larroca, Aco
Spawn #301 by Todd McFarlane, Bill Sienkiewicz 
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Urban Legends #17 by Gary Carlson, Frank Fosco, Erik Larsen
Usagi Yojimbo #5 by Stan Sakai

Only two for me this week! I know I said I didn't like the first issue of Gwenpool Strikes Back, but Deadpool was an interesting addition to the second. I feel like Leah Williams was able to write his character with more authenticity, but Gwenpool still felt off. I don't really like her in this series, or understand what she's trying to accomplish. Yes, she wants to be relevant so Marvel will keep her around (she's aware she's in a comic just like Deadpool), but her methods are unusual even by her standards. You can guess what she's been up to just by looking at the cover for the most recent issue. Surely there's a better way for her to make a comeback? 

Miles Morales Spider-Man is still one of my favorites! Saladin Ahmed in an incredible writer. If you haven't read anything by him, you're missing out on some stellar storytelling!

Can't Wait Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings, that highlights upcoming releases that we're anticipating and excited to read. It's a spinoff of the feature Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

All the Pretty Things by Emily Arsenault
Expected publication: March 17th 2020
Synopsis (via Goodreads): For fans of Sadie and The Cheerleaders comes an all new thriller about a boy who turns up dead under suspicious circumstances and the one girl who may be the key to solving the mystery of his untimely death.

For Ivy, summer means roller-coaster season, spinning cotton candy at the Fabuland amusement park, and hanging out with her best friend, Morgan. But this summer is different.

One morning, Morgan finds a dead body. It's their former classmate and coworker Ethan. To make matters worse, Morgan is taken to a hospital psych ward only days later, and she's not saying much--not even to Ivy.

The police claim that Ethan simply took a bad fall, but Ivy isn't convinced and realizes it's up to her to get answers. What she finds is unsettling--it's clear that some people aren't being honest about Ethan's last night at Fabuland. Including Morgan. And the more secrets Ivy uncovers, the closer she gets to unraveling dark truths that will change her life forever.

𑁋𑁋𑁋

All the Pretty Things sounds like the perfect October read, but it doesn't come out until March! 

*Share your My Weekly Pull post! Please leave the direct link to your My Weekly Pull post and not just your blog's URL. Thank you for participating and happy reading!

10 comments:

  1. I love a good murder mystery!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope the books is as good as the synopsis!

      Delete
  2. Gwenpool good grief what's going on there lolol???

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Right?? Girl has lost her mind. She thinks if she ruins relationships, reveals secret identities, and generally makes a fool of herself, she'll convince Marvel to keep her around. She's trying to leave her mark, make an impact, anything that will prove her value. However, I think the sexy angle was a horrible idea and not very Gwenpool-like.

      Delete
  3. That sounds like a pretty good book. Ending up in the psych hospital wouldn't be fun.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Books with psych wards/hospitals always freak me out. The people are so unpredictable!

      Delete
  4. All the Pretty Things has a CAPTIVATING cover! It sounds good too!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The cover is so simple, but really effective!

      Delete
  5. I hope you'll enjoy your pulls this week, as well All the Pretty Things!

    happy reading. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I don't actually have this book yet! It's just one I'm looking forward to reading. ;)

      Delete

Click the "Notify me" box if you want to be notified when someone responds!

“Stuff and nonsense. Nonsense and stuff and much of a muchness and nonsense all over again. We are all mad here, don't you know?”
― Marissa Meyer, Heartless